Blog, Parenting Tips

30 positive things to say to your child.

We’ve all been there. Stuck in the same routine of, “good job,” or “way to go.” Sometimes even, “that’s cool” or “I like that.” You want to praise your child, but there’s really only so many times you can say the same old line until they start to tune it out. How many times has your child shown you something, and it was amazing, but all you could find to say was, “wow that was cool.” Cue your child wondering if you really liked what they did.

30 positive things you can say to your child.
30 positive things you can say to your child instead of the same old thing.

You know that moment when your child is showing you the same thing for the millionth time, and you love your child so much, so you continue to say, “that’s nice,” etc. Just like you get tired of the same old thing, don’t you think they get tired of the same old thing?

“Mom, you always say the same things to me,” actual quote from my 4 year old after showing me her 37th Little Pet Shop toy.

I knew I had to stop with the same old same old, and think of other ways to praise her. Other ways to give her positive affirmations. So here I have compiled 30 positive things you can say to your child. (Other than the same old same old)

  1. I love your creativity.
  2. I love the way you (fill in blank).
  3. I’m so glad you are my child.
  4. You are very good at that.
  5. Being around you is fun.
  6. I love how you handled (insert situation).
  7. What you did was awesome.
  8. You have great ideas.
  9. What you have to say is important.
  10. I am listening to you.
  11. Our family is lucky to have you.
  12. You make my heart happy.
  13. Look at what you’ve accomplished.
  14. That’s the best you’ve ever done.
  15. I couldn’t have done it better myself.
  16. You figured that out fast.
  17. You’re really learning a lot.
  18. Tell me more about it.
  19. I love being your parent.
  20. Thank you for being such a big helper.
  21. You’re such a great friend.
  22. You’re such a great listener.
  23. I love your positive outlook on that.
  24. You did it all by yourself!
  25. You look so proud of what you did, I am proud, too!
  26. How did you know how to do that?
  27. You done that better then I could have.
  28. I love how you didn’t give up.
  29. You can do it, if you set your mind to it.
  30. You make me so proud to be your parent.

Just like us, our children need positive affirmation. We need to build our babies up positively, so they have a positive outlook on things.

What positive things do you tell your children? How do they respond when you tell them these different things?

5 thoughts on “30 positive things to say to your child.”

  1. I love them and I know that saying those positive things to them will build their confidence and make them feel loved. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this! I am guilty of using the same “That looks great!”, “I love it!”, “Great Job!” phrases over and over again, and I guess sometimes I do so without really thinking about. I’ll definitely be using all of these from now on.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment